Above each chapter in my Bible, there is a title.

I went to bed Saturday night praying and woke up Sunday morning praying. I again found myself struggling with something, and I knew there was only one person who could help me. I woke up earlier than normal so I had a few more minutes until I had to get ready for Sunday School.

I came across the verse as I was scrolling on Facebook, “Is anything too hard for the Lord?” from Genesis chapter 18. I picked up my Bible and began to read. The title of the chapter was, “Sarah’s Faith is Tested.” I could’ve easily swapped out Sarah’s name for my own and her situation for the one I was struggling with.

Sarah and Abraham desired a child, but nothing. At the point they felt they were too old, God promised He would soon give Sarah a son. That scripture again gave me some peace.

I proceeded to get ready for Sunday School and hopped in my car to leave. I plugged in my phone and played, “It is Well (Elisha’s Song)” before I pulled out of the driveway. I’ve heard the song a million times before, but something was different this time.

As I listened, I heard the story about a man and a woman who also desired a child. God sent them the miracle they longed for, but he died one day. The woman didn’t tell anyone, she ran straight to God and if anybody asked her she replied while on her way: “It is well. It is well. There is peace in my despair because I know God has heard my prayer.”

It was in that moment God said to me: I already knew what she needed before she came to me, but I wanted her to bring her needs to me directly (not anyone else). It was in that moment I had to stop my car because I couldn’t see the road because I was crying so hard. I had to stop and thank God for already knowing my heart. It was so good to hear from Him and that He already knew what I needed. He just wanted me to bring it to Him directly.

It doesn’t matter our age or how long we’ve waited, but God knows our hearts and loves us just as much as the individuals in the Bible who were a part of all these great miracles.

There is nothing too hard for the Lord. Nothing.  

Leave a Reply

