There is power in prayer, if you believe.

Just like everyone else who saw the Christian movie “War Room,” I was on fire after watching it. I cried during the movie as Miss Clara let God use her to help save a stranger’s marriage. I cried as I saw all of the answered prayers she had displayed on her wall so she never forgot how good God truly was, no matter how bad the day. I cried watching God save this marriage that almost fell apart. I cried at the closet that Miss Clara solely dedicated to prayer.

What really brought me to tears was what Miss Clara said at the end.

Elizabeth spoke of Miss Clara’s marriage and how they must’ve been so blessed, but Miss Clara let her know that wasn’t the case.

See, Miss Clara didn’t submit to God when he asked her to. God was telling her to fight and pray for her marriage but she refused to do so. Her husband never got to witness God using her in this capacity. He never got to see her blossom into this Godly woman, because she didn’t listen. This is where I sobbed, Miss Clara was speaking to me.

My mind went back to the times where I set in my church pew mad, mad at the people in the church. There were also many times I was upset, believing the lies the devil told me.

God has no plans for you, he said. No one in the church likes you or wants to hear you, and again I listened. I sat in my seat week after week with not a word or song in my heart. I couldn’t testify, sing, shout or cry for Jesus. I was silent, just as the devil wanted.

Miss Clara’s words reminded me that I have to fight for the people I love, fight for the lost, fight for those that have gone astray. I had to fight in prayer, on my knees.

I began to think, what if I never testified again? What if I never sang again? What if I never shouted again? Which one of my loved ones would I hinder? Would anyone remember how much I loved Jesus? Would they remember me ever sharing my story or singing his praises?

Would they just remember me sitting in my seat and being silent? That’s what I was afraid of. My power comes from telling my story and singing his praises, that’s how God uses me.

Many days have passed since I watched “War Room” for the first time. I can’t say that my prayer life has been on fire since that day or that I have a war room of my own, but God reminded me today that it’s time to fight.

1 Thessalonians 5:17 (KJV)

17 Pray without ceasing.

There are so many people in my life and in your life that stand in the need of prayer. Are you on praying ground? Are you able and ready to pray heaven down? What if you are the only person in a friend or family members life that has the ability to reach Jesus? Are you ready?

I know I have numerous people in my life that stand in the need of prayer daily. These people are counting on me to cry out to Jesus for them. Me. Not that I am anything because I fail him daily, but I have the ability to humble myself down and cry out to Jesus for my people.

Time is running out and I don’t want to look back on my life and say those words that Miss Clara spoke. I have to fight and pray for the people in my life, the people I pass at the grocery store, the people at the gym, and the people at work. I have to shine my light brighter than ever before!

I’ll leave you with this.

I heard someone say very recently, “We speak of God like we believe, but we live as if we don’t.”

I now have the names of those who are constantly on my heart written on a piece of paper taped to my wall. I will be praying for you and glancing at your name on a daily basis. It’s time to fight like a warrior…

Raise ’em up Lord, Raise ’em up!

Psalm 126:5-6 (KJV)

5 They that sow in tears shall reap in joy.

6 He that goeth forth and weepeth, bearing precious seed, shall doubtless come again with rejoicing, bringing his sheaves with him.

Buy my first paperback book on Amazon!

Thus_FAR

Leave a Reply

