So many plans, so many goals, so many dreams, but I have to remember that you are God and I am not.

As you may have noticed, my life is full of moments that things didn’t go as I had planned. Some plans, some goals, and some dreams were meant to be just that. I didn’t lose anything by giving up my dreams, but I gained a perspective that only God can give.

At 17 years old, I was in love with this girl who I was friends with. I was infatuated with the idea of us and that there was no one better. I felt this way for years, and I couldn’t see anyone else but her. With feelings so strong, the heartbreak hurt just the same. She didn’t feel the same, and this was the beginning of me believing there couldn’t be anyone else for me.

She went to church, had a great family, was beautiful, and had a good head on her shoulders. She was everything I thought I wanted.

Fast forward 8 years later, and I can’t say I feel the same as I did back then.

I’m thankful God saw ahead to now, and kept me from investing time into that relationship. Time that I never would’ve gotten back, memories and baggage that I would’ve had to carry with me.

I’m sure everyone has been in a spot where they thought this was it, I’m going to marry this person. Then something happened, something changed, you turned down a different road and without even noticing that person was no longer there. The feelings were gone and you knew things were better down this road because God had another plan.

I can’t say that I got over this quickly, as it did hurt pretty bad. I was young, and we all know how young love works and just how bad it hurts.

I spoke to my mother the other day, as I always do, and asked her why is everyone else in a relationship or married and I am not. She proceeded to tell me that my expectations are higher than those I use as examples.

“Would you be happy in so & so’s situation or would you put up with the drinking like they are doing?” I simply replied with a no, because I knew she was right.

Love is too great, too important, and too sacred to just settle for some lackluster version of it. It’s important to realize that no one is perfect, and we all have our flaws but that doesn’t mean we should settle for someone just because we don’t want to be alone.

The bible specifically talks about not being unequally yoked.

2 Corinthians 6:14 (KJV)

14 Be ye not unequally yoked together with unbelievers: for what fellowship hath righteousness with unrighteousness? and what communion hath light with darkness?

Yes, I would love to be married and possibly have children with a dog running in the backyard. You know, the so-called American dream. In my eyes it’s not really the American dream that my heart longs for, but it’s God’s idea of marriage, an idea that is not dead but alive in those who believe.

1 Corinthians 13:4-7 (KJV)

4 Charity suffereth long, and is kind; charity envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up,

5 Doth not behave itself unseemly, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil;

6 Rejoiceth not in iniquity, but rejoiceth in the truth;

7 Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things.

Buy my first paperback book on Amazon!

Thus_FAR

One thought on “When I thought I found “The One”

Leave a Reply

