The devil will do anything he can to get you to take your eyes off of Jesus, and that’s just what he tried to do, to my family. I can tell you first hand, the devil has no power against the Father.

I always thought I had the perfect family, “The Cleaver’s” if you will. I got along with my parents, and loved my siblings more than myself. We got along just like most families do with a few arguments here and there, but our foundation was solid. The bottom line is we loved each other through the good and bad, just like a family should.

If you think the devil isn’t out to devour your relationship with your family or your marriage, you are mistaken.

My family had a little struggle about a year ago in 2015, when my sister moved out unannounced. Talk about a rough time, I don’t think I ever went that long without talking to her. I felt like someone hit me with a truck and then ran me over when she left. Something was off, and I didn’t know what to do but ask Jesus for help.

Would he hear my cry? Would he fix my broken heart?

With failed attempt after failed attempt to communicate with her, it seemed we had lost the war. I was waving my flag, accepting defeat. I felt myself drowning, and I couldn’t see the light at the end of the tunnel anymore. My faith was wavering, and I wasn’t sure I’d make it through.

Little did I know, the devil is no match to that of the Father’s love.

Just like Jesus, our natural father’s are our comforter, guide, friend, protector and disciplinarian. They keep us safe, provide shelter, make sure there is food on the table and a place to lay our heads at night.

I woke up one night to hear my father crying out to Jesus in our living room. I never heard a sound like that before, a sound so sweet and powerful coming from my natural father. I knew that my father was talking to Jesus that very moment (I wish I could portray in words what I heard).

I knew my parents loved us, but I didn’t realize how much until that moment.

I heard Jesus in my father, as he cried out for his child to come home and make things right. Just like Jesus calls out to his children when they go astray, our natural father’s are no different. So often we think we know best and that we don’t need our Father’s blessing anymore, but that isn’t the case. No matter how long we have been astray, Jesus still stands with his arms stretched out wide begging us to come back home.

Jesus showed me shortly after this happened that he is and will always be in control. He can reach the unreachable and love the unlovable. We are not always deserving, but there is nothing greater than the Father’s love.

No matter your circumstance, just call out to the Father and you will find him standing in the same place you left him with his arms wide open.

Luke 15:3-7 (KJV)

4 What man of you, having an hundred sheep, if he lose one of them, doth not leave the ninety and nine in the wilderness, and go after that which is lost, until he find it?

5 And when he hath found it, he layeth it on his shoulders, rejoicing.

6 And when he cometh home, he calleth together his friends and neighbours, saying unto them, Rejoice with me; for I have found my sheep which was lost.

 

Buy my first paperback book on Amazon!

Thus_FAR

Leave a Reply

