Proverbs 31:10-12 (KJV)

10 Who can find a virtuous woman? for her price is far above rubies.

11 The heart of her husband doth safely trust in her, so that he shall have no need of spoil.

12 She will do him good and not evil all the days of her life.

 

All my life, I have been different. I think most people that know me personally could attest to that. Most people call me sheltered, but that’s because they don’t know what’s in my heart. You see, I was saved when I was 12 years old at Faith Missionary Baptist Church. No, I didn’t sign my name on a card or the pastor didn’t baptize me as a baby, but it was different.

God called me to as I was sitting in my pew on that Sunday morning in November, and I still remember that moment like it was yesterday.

I really can’t remember how old I was when I started to desire a wife, maybe 17? I never just wanted to date any girl, and believe me I’ve ran into some bad ones along the way.

I’ve wanted a woman who loves Jesus more than me, someone who desires to do his will. Someone who tears up singing his name or shouts watching her people be saved. Someone who prays without ceasing and who sees the best in people. Someone who loves her family because she knows that is what truly matters.

I’ve tried my best to be patient and wait for her. I’m not the most patient person but in a way I have been patient, for her. I’ve saved myself for marriage, which being almost 26 years old is quite a feat in 2016.

Sometimes I’m just not sure if she is out there. If she is, am I everything her heart has longed for? It’s hard waiting especially when I sit back and watch those who I grew up with, who are younger than me, get engaged and married. It’s hard when things don’t go as I planned. If I had my way I would have been married a couple of years ago, but God has had another plan for me.

Am I fulfilling God’s plan for me during this time? Honestly, I don’t know. All I can do is do my best, and let everyone know that it is possible to wait. It’s possible not to give in to temptation and partake in what the world says you should do in a relationship. You too can be different, you can desire Godly things. You don’t have to give in because everyone else is, but you can desire a Godly relationship.

I just hope and pray that those who doubt, those who think I’m crazy, and those who don’t believe will see Jesus in me. During my trials and times of doubt, he has always been there for me because he loves me.

The day that I see my bride (virtuous woman), walking down the aisle to meet me after all the years of waiting, I pray that Jesus gets all the glory in that moment.

Believe me, satan has told me a time or two that it’s okay to give in this once because everyone else is doing it. I’m not everyone else, I am different. I am a child of the King. God has called me to shine my light for those around me who need to see. Don’t listen to the devil in your time of hurt or weakness. God has plans for you too, no matter your circumstance.

It’s okay to wait, and it’s okay to be different because in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.

Galatians 6:9 (KJV)

And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.

Buy my first paperback book on Amazon!

Thus_FAR

 

One thought on “Single man’s prayer for a virtuous woman

Leave a Reply

